RSS

Abhishek Raghuram @ Seshadripuram Rama Seva Samithi 01 May, 2013

01 May

Vocal : Abhishek Raghuram

Violin : Charulatha Ramanujam

Mrudangam : Neyveli Narayanan

Ganjira : Guruprasanna

List:

01.  ninnu kOri (varNam) – mOhanam – Ramanathapurm Srinivasa Iyengar

02.  muNdu vENukA – darbAr – Thyagaraja

03.  paridAnamichitE – bilahari – Patnam Subramanya Iyer ( A,N,S )

      neraval & swara @ ‘ rokkamicchutakunE mukkaNTi chelikAnu’

04.  sukhi evvarO – kAnaDa  – Thyagaraja (  O )

05.  nidhi chAla sukhamA – kalyANi – Thyagaraja ( A,N,S,T )

      neraval & swara@ ‘mamata bandhana yuta nara stuti sukhamA sumati tyAgarAja nutuni kIrtana sukhamA’

06.  kamalAptakula – brindAvana sAranga – Thyagaraja (O ) -started at anupallavi

07.  AdidEva paramAtma – sindhubhairavi –  Annamacharya

08.  patiki hArati rE – surutti – Thyagarja

09. mangaLam – saurAshtram – Thyagaraja

Today wasn’t the day of hyper activity. The speed and aggression wasn’t the virtue. Abhishek gave a much melodious and restrained concert at the Seshadripuram College Ground today. The change of gear was evident from the varnam itself. The darbar piece had all the softness and calmness that was then carried on through out the evening. Bilahari was the first alapana of the evening. It was a decent fair with some nice return from Charulatha. However, the Patnam Subramanya Iyer’s kriti came in all splendor with a brilliant neraval and two speed kalpana swarams. Neraval was long and elaborate with some customary maneuvers you witness in his concerts. Luckily this did not go beyond the comfort zone.

Another breezy one came soon in the form of Kanada. Very moving , melodiuos sukhi evvaro was very appealing to me. Kalyani ( yet again ) came in as the main, fairly early in the evening. The alapana was long but very stylish and classy (It takes something if I have to admit Kalyani alapana was good). So was the case of Charulatha’s violin return. Haven’t heard nidhi chala sukhama for a very very long time. TNS singing nidhi chala sukhama at the same venue ( I guess in 2008) is still fresh in mind. Abhishek did a brilliant job. Singing neraval at the long line , altering between ‘mamata..’ and ‘sumati..’ he weaved magical moments for nearly 10 minutes. Kalpana swara was relatively short but was fitting to the kriti and the long neraval. Tani avartanam played by Neyveli Narayanan and Guruprasanna was very good. Charulatha impressed me the most. She was brilliant through out the evening.

Like in the case of TMK, I was left with a feeling that the concert was very short and could have planned a bit more balanced. It started around 6:45 and wounded up by 9:15, with a 15 min break for speeches and flowers in between. Post main was very short but both brindavana saranga and sindhubhairavi were very nice. Though short ( probably another alapana and kriti would have made it more fulfilling), this concert was much better than the last concert I attended at BTM by Abhishek.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on May 1, 2013 in Concert songlist

 

Tags: ,

4 responses to “Abhishek Raghuram @ Seshadripuram Rama Seva Samithi 01 May, 2013

  1. Venkatesh A R

    May 2, 2013 at 4:30 pm

    Hi Jayan, totally refreshing knowing his hyperactive techniques. Remember last November concert at Nadhasurabhi, Koramangala. The acoustics was a big let down. A decent concert with brilliant Bilahari and good Kalyani. I also felt he could have sung another krithi with a short Alapana & swara.

     
  2. Jayan

    May 2, 2013 at 11:57 am

    Ramesh, I am no expert either. The last concert I attended of Abhishek was at BTM, which was a noisy, messy, too aggressive( if I may use that phrase) to my comfort. This was a huge change from that day. So, it is the case of experience over expectation. He has a distinct approach and I have seen the audience, serious listeners, divided in their opinion. There are ardent fans and equal number of people opposing his style of singing. It is interesting to note the ‘demographic’ split of these members. There are no surprises there as younger ones tend to like his music, while the older ones are critical about him. I being in the middle age :-), tend to take the middle path. To me he is super talented and tends to stretch the limits of the known dimensions of raga alapana, kalpana swara and the kriti itself with very high dose of ‘bhriga’. He goes over board many a times. So, when he does it within the comfortable limits of my appreciation, I like his concerts. When he gets into these gymnastics, taking away the aesthetics, I have my reservations.

    Also, listening is very personal. To me it depends on the ambient, the mood I am in. Hence, I can appreciate your opinion and that is what makes the whole thing interesting. Thank you for your note.

     
  3. Ramesh

    May 2, 2013 at 9:55 am

    Ah well; tastes are completely different (the world will be a poor place if it wasn’t so !). I am a complete novice, but to my taste this was a poor concert and I committed the unpardonable sin of walking out halfway. Over elaboration and complexity completely killed my interest. Nothing flowed – the long pauses made me cringe. Building up a mini tempo and then 10 seconds of silence and picking a different note ?? Difficulty in singing and pleasure to the audience are two different things ! I actually thought Charulatha was lost and couldn’t keep up with Abhishek’s gyrations. Maybe I am being unfair – listening to Manjunath and Nagaraj producing magic three days ago maybe coloured my violin expectations. Guruprasanna had all but given up, I noticed. The only thing I enjoyed was the kalyani aalapana, which you have praised too.

    For me the phrase that resounded was “Keep it simple stupid” !!

     
  4. Varadarajan

    May 2, 2013 at 9:10 am

    No traffic till the venue was a joy. kanada was beautiful and the highlight. They should have a couple of speakers in the back too perhaps. Charulatha was brilliant throughout. I thought there would be a minimal nara sthuthi but no. B.sarang was very good too. .

     

Leave a Reply

 
